Before Arrival

Pre-Arrival Guidebook (2021 Fall Semester)

The Office of International Affairs has compiled a guidebook for information to help you as you prepare to embark on your journey to NTU. Please click on the photo to access the AY2021/2022 Pre-Arrival Guidebook which includes essential information on topics including finance, course selection, etc. To download an electronic version, please click here.

VISA & ARC

Visa

According to the policy released on July 26, 2021, the border control measures for all foreign citizens became stricter. Entry to Taiwan will continue to be suspended for foreign nationals without a valid R.O.C. (Taiwan) Resident Certificate.

Before you come to Taiwan, you should apply for a Resident or Visitor Visa from the Taiwan Diplomatic Mission in your residence country with the official admission letter issued by NTU. Look up the Taiwan Diplomatic Mission in your residence country by visiting the Ministry of Foreign Affair's website > Embassies & Missions.

Please note that if you fail to obtain a proper visa issued by a Taiwan Diplomatic Mission, your exchange student identity will be canceled.

If you are a Mainland China Passport holder, you will need to enter Taiwan with an Entry Permit. According to regulations of the National Immigration Agency, OIA will help you with the application for an Entry Permit. Find out more in the Guide for Mainland China Passport Holders.

ARC (Alien Resident Certificate)

If you will be staying in Taiwan for one academic year, you may be able to obtain an ARC.

Once you have registered at NTU, you can apply for a Resident Visa at the Bureau of Consular Affairs of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs if you entered Taiwan on a Visitor Visa. 

Within 15 days of receiving a Resident Visa, you must apply for an ARC at the National Immigration Agency in Taipei. You may also request a Re-entry Permit when you apply for an ARC. 

 

Insurance 

NTU Insurance Policy

For students who are joining the on-campus exchange program, you are required to purchase your own insurance in your home country before traveling to Taiwan. A valid Taiwanese NHI card (National Health Insurance card) can also be considered as a equivalent insurance.

Please provide proof of insurance in Chinese or English valid for your entire exchange period for the following:
 - Accident insurance worth a minimum of TWD 1,000,000 (approx. USD 34,000)
 - Medical insurance worth a minimum of TWD 1,000,000 (approx. USD 34,000)

If you hold an Alien Resident Certificate (ARC) and have met the six-month minimum residency requirement, you can choose to join the National Health Insurance (NHI) with limited coverage.

 

Health Exam Requirement

  NTU Health Exam Policy

For students joining the on-campus exchange program, you must complete a health exam conducted by a qualified doctor and complete all parts listed on the NTU Incoming Exchange/Visiting Students Health Exam Form & Form C (2pages in total). According to the regulation of National Health Insurance Administration, Ministry of Health and Welfare, the NTU Health Exam Form and Form C must be completed within 3 months prior to the registration date.

You need to print out the health exam form in hard copy, and complete the health exam by a qualified doctor in your home country. Please upload both the complete Health Exam Form and Form C to the online registration system before the registration deadline. Details will be provided directly via email.

If you have difficulty to do the health exam in your home country, you may choose to do the health exam at NTU Hospital after arriving in Taiwan. Please note that following the current policy, all foreign passengers are required to complete a 14-day Home Quarantine and the following up 7-day Self Health Management. Moreover, it takes around 5 to 7 work days to receive the health exam report.

If you fail to submit the health exam form before the deadline, please contact your coordinator to make an appointment for a make-up registration.

  Health Certificate for Residence Application

If you are a one-year exchange student and need to apply for the Resident Visa, you will need to conduct a health exam at Ministry-designated hospital, which does not include the NTU Hospital, and complete both NTU Health Exam forms and Health Certificate for Residence Application.  

 

NTU Student Volunteer

To help you become better prepared and more familiar with NTU student life, OIA will assign an NTU student volunteer for you upon your arrival. When you receive a welcome email from your student volunteer, please reply directly to their email.

If you haven't heard from your student volunteer 2 weeks before classes begin, please contact your NTU exchange student coordinator.


Last update : 2021 / 08 / 20

抵臺前

2021秋季(第一)學期來校交換學生行前手冊

為了讓所有來校交換學生於抵達臺灣前順利完成相關行前準備,國際事務處特別製作交換學生行前手冊,請同學點擊圖片電子書。手冊內容包含宿舍介紹、簽證、選課及生活資訊等重要訊息,請務必仔細閱讀

 

簽證(VISA)及外僑居留證(ARC)

外國簽證(Visa)

配合中央流行疫情指揮中心2021年7月26日之政策宣布,外交部將持續執行「邊境嚴管」措施。未持有我國有效居留證之非本國籍人士仍暫緩入境。

交換學生必須在入境臺灣前攜帶本校中英文入學通知書至各地中華民國駐外使館申請停留簽證或居留簽證。請於中華民國外交部官網查詢所在地區之我國駐外館處

請注意,未能順利取得簽證或入臺證之學生,將喪失本校交換學生資格。

具有中國大陸國籍之學生欲來臺進行短期學術交流,需持有入臺證。依內政部移民署規定,國際事務處將協助申辦入臺證之相關事宜,相關細節請參見中國籍學生專用手冊

外僑居留證(ARC)

一學年之交換學生,依照規定得申請一年期之外僑居留證(ARC)。

學生若使用停留簽證(Visitor Visa)入境臺灣,可於完成本校註冊後,自行前往外交部領事事務局申請換發居留簽證(Resident Visa)。

學生必須在拿到居留簽證(Resident Visa)後15天內,至移民署申請外僑居留證(ARC)。申請時可依個人情況同時申請多次重入國許可(Re-entry Permit)。

 

保險

個人醫療及意外保險規定

根據本校規定,來臺來校交換/訪問學生,必須於抵臺前先行於母國購買個人醫療及意外險,持有有效之我國全民健康保險卡者不在此限。

請提供中文或英文版本之保險證明,項目需涵蓋兩大項目:

  •  ◆ 意外險:保額最低須超過新臺幣1,000,000元(≒USD 34,000),且保險期間需完整涵蓋交換期。
  •  ◆ 一般醫療險:保額最低須超過新臺幣1,000,000元(≒USD 34,000),且保險期間需完整涵蓋交換期。

持有外僑居留證(ARC)之交換學生,須有滿六個月之在臺居留事實方可申請參加全民健康保險。

 

健康檢查

健康檢查規定

根據本校規定,來臺來校交換/訪問學生須於抵台前於母國政府合法立案之醫療院所、由合格醫師進行身體健康檢查,並完成本校體格檢查表及丙表(點擊下載)。根據衛生福利部中央健康保險署規定,本校體格檢查表及丙表需於註冊日期前三個月內完成才視同有效。

請持紙本體格檢查表及丙表,於母國尋找政府合法立案的醫院或合格醫師進行身體健康檢查,並請在註冊截止日期前上傳完整的體檢表及丙表至註冊系統。國際事務處將以電子郵件通知相關細節。

若無法於母國進行身體健康檢查,能選擇抵臺後至臺大醫院進行檢查。請注意,根據目前政策,所有外籍人士入境後均應完成14天居家隔離及7天自主健康管理之後才能進行健康檢察,健康檢查報告通常需要五至七個工作日才能拿到,敬請妥善安排入境時間。

若無法於線上註冊截止日期前上傳完整體檢表及丙表至註冊系統,請事先通知國際事務處交換生計畫承辦人,以進行補註冊流程。

外籍人士居留健檢

一學年之交換學生,且欲申請停留簽證(Visitor Visa)轉換居留簽證(Resident Visa)者,請同時攜帶「衛生福利部疾病管制署居留或定居健康檢查項目表」 及「國立臺灣大學體格檢查表及丙表」至國內指定醫院 (不含臺大醫院)完成身體健康檢查。

接待志工

為了幫助交換學生作足抵臺前之準備並讓學生認識本地學生生活,國際事務處將會為所有來校交換生安排國際學生接待志工。接待志工將於學期開始前主動寄信聯絡,請直接回信給志工。

若開學兩週前仍未收到志工來信,建議與國際事務處交換生計畫承辦人聯繫。

 


更新時間 : 2021 / 08 / 20