【International Scholar】Caspar Lant | Unexpected Connections to Taiwan. NYU Fulbright Fellow Utilizes NTU's Interdisciplinary Resources.

OIA Investigation Bureau: International Scholar 

> Person of Interest: Caspar Lant
> Case Number NTUOIA 001
> Keywords/Affiliation: NTU IoX Center
> Progress: Ongoing 



Caspar Lant, an adjunct instructor of physics from 
New York University (NYU), is passionate about scientific research and hopes to utilize his research to decrease damage and impact to the environment. He is outgoing and energetic, with a love for not just the sciences, but also culture and languages. Before coming to Taiwan, he had also conducted research at Berlin and Shanghai. He is fluent in English, German, and Chinese. 

Every year, many scholars from all over the world choose Taiwan as their destination to explore and advance their research portfolio. National Taiwan University (NTU) is honored to be able to welcome many international scholars onto the campus and host them at various research facilities or labs. So why are these scholars interested in NTU? What do these scholar research about? Come along with the OIA Investigation Bureau to learn more! 

 

Unexpected opportunity to visit Taiwan turned into a memorable experience 

 

Caspar Lant was awarded a Fulbright Program Scholarship in 2020 and looked forward to visiting China for a year. But as the saying goes, even the best-laid plans can’t catch up to changes, and Caspar found that he had to change his destination. Also looking to continue his Chinese studies, he chose Taiwan as the place he’d call home for a whole year. He connected with Professor Jane Hsu of the NTU IoX Center to be hosted at NTU and this trip to Taiwan became an unforgettable exprience. As an international scholar, Caspar looks forward to exploring new directions of research and connecting with international peers. He also wants to utilize the long-term overseas opportunity to interact with the local community. Caspar elaborated on his decision to choose NTU as the destination for his overseas program. NTU is Taiwan’s premier comprehensive university, and sits centrally in Taipei, offered the best of both worlds, a rigorous academic setting and a vibrant living environment.  

Investigation Memo 1

 

New York University (NYU) is a private research university founded in 1831 in New York City, U.S.A.

Investigation Memo 2

The Fulbright Program is a cultural exchange program that aims to foster mutual understanding between United States and its partners. In Taiwan, the program is locally administered by the Foundation for Scholarly Exchange (Fulbright Taiwan). The Foundation has financed over 1,600 Taiwan grantees to the U.S. and more than 1,700 U.S. grantees to Taiwan.


NTU 
IoX Center, the best place for multidisciplinary research
 

Caspar especially appreciates Professor Jane Hsu, who is the first female professor of Computer Science and Information Engineering at NTU and also the director of the NTU IoX Center. Specializing in artificial intelligence, internet of things, and human-computer interaction, the center’s mission of a multidisciplinary space bringing together local and international researchers who are passionate about providing innovative technology solutions aligns intimately with Caspar’s. Being at the NTU IoX Center provided a spontaneous environment for Caspar to meet peers from disciplines much different from his own. He’s occasionally participated in other peers’ projects which helps to expand his horizon and may provide future inspirations for his own projects, Caspar said. 

Investigation Memo 3

The NTU IoX Center opened its doors in 2011 aims to bring together passionate researchers to provide innovative technology solutions. The center specializes in artificial intelligence (AI), internet of things (IoT), and human-computer interaction (HCI) while focusing on multidimensional collaboration and social responsibility.

Research to help people and environment 

When asked about his personal motivation in research, Caspar immediately responded that he wants to utilize technology to help tackle health issues, for both human and environment. One of his current projects is a medication management device to dispense appropriate dosage and utilizes AI technology to monitor intake to prevent overdosing and addiction. Medication management also helps to reduce excess medication from contaminating water resources and aquatic ecosystems. 

Resource abundance aids potential development 

Filled with curiosity and keen to interact with his environment, Caspar described that the NTU campus offers just the combination of research-intensive setting and peer interactions. Though NTU peers competes with each other, they also encourage each other, forming a benevolent atmosphere. Besides the opportunities at NTU IoX Center, Caspar was also able to take advantage of the university environment to audit one of Prof. Jane Hsu’s course on artificial intelligence. He even connected with a Master’s student in the class and experimented on a user authentication method based on key-stroke analysis. Caspar also recalls from the early weeks of his stay that he was approached by a freshman student when walking around the NTU campus. It turned out the student was looking to connect with international peers for a Freshman English course and the next day Caspar introduced himself and his experiences researching in different regions to a class of freshmen. Caspar was genuinely surprised by the enthusiasm and proactive attitude evident through these interactions. 

Work-life balance through proximity to nature

In addition to the academic environment, NTU sits in central urban area close to public transportations. Not only that, Taipei is surrounded by mountains with blue oceans just an hour drive away, offering both urban conveniences and easy access to nature which Caspar fell in love with. He took us sightseeing at nearby Fujhousan Park to experience the route he takes when looking for inspiration or needing to clear his head. He also frequents other hiking options right in central Taipei such as the Elephant Mountain and the Toad Mountain. We also followed Caspar to his residence at Minsheng community and learned that even though Caspar has only been living in Taiwan for just a few months, he’s already a link in the local community. The nearby food vendor, Kaohsiung ba wan (that’s not in Kaohsiung), recounts his weekly visits and knows his order by heart. Even the barber shop in the alleyway, the one and only that Caspar visits in Taiwan, knows just how he prefers his haircut. 

Deepening ties between NYU and NTU 

Although a portion of his stay here was affected by the pandemic prevention measures, Caspar says his experience at NTU has far exceeded his expectations and he recommends NTU to international scholars worldwide. He is grateful for the opportunity provided by Fulbright Taiwan and hopes there will be more exchanges between New York University and National Taiwan University. While there are still a few more months until the end of his visit, Caspar is already looking forward to coming back to Taiwan to explore further. NTU stands with open arms! 

Tune in / Stay tuned for the next person of interest, brought to you by the OIA Investigation Bureau. 






Last update : 2021 / 12 / 05

【國際學人】紐約大學 Caspar Lant|臺大資源豐富,跨域學習最佳場域

紐約大學 Caspar Lant|臺大資源豐富,跨域學習最佳場域



 

>案號:002 

>調查對象:Caspar Lant  

>調查地點:臺大智慧聯網創新研究中心

>調查進度:已解密

 


人物檔案

Caspar Lant,美國紐約大學物理系兼任講師。來臺前曾在柏林、上海等地從事研究,對科學研究有極度熱誠,希望自己的研究成果,在促進科技發展之餘,還能降低對環境的傷害跟衝擊。他是個性外向、充滿活力的大男孩,對臺灣的社會文化深感興趣,會說英文、德文、中文等三種語言。

調查局小檔案1

紐約大學是一所創立於1831年的私立研究型大學,學校現址位在美國紐約。

 

對於許多國際學者來說,移地研究是最有效的進修與增能方法。國立臺灣大學每年接待來自不同大學與研究機構的國際學者,究竟這些學者在臺大做了什麼研究?有什麼樣的心得?為什麼臺大受到這些學者喜愛?OIA調查局帶你解碼臺大國際學人!

 

因緣際會來臺大,卻成了最好的移地研究體驗

Caspar是傅爾布萊特計畫獎助學者,原先預計於2020年訪問中國上海,然而受到疫情與計畫變動的影響,只好轉往其他國家。曾經學過中文的他,選擇了臺灣成為他的下一站,也在因緣際會之下透過IoX中心許永真教授來到了臺大,這個疫情下突然轉彎的選擇,卻成了他最難忘的移地研究體驗。他認為國際學人的使命,除了在與國際科技社群建立連結外,更重要的是要能累積與當地社區的互動經驗,而臺大是全臺灣最頂尖、最全面的綜合性大學,位處臺北的精華地段,提供了絕佳的學術環境、充滿生氣的校園以及富含人文的生活,毫無疑問地成為了他的首選。  

調查局小檔案2

傅爾布萊特獎助計畫旨在促進美國及其合作夥伴雙邊的文化交流活動,該計畫由學術交流基金會負責。基金會目前已選送超過1,600位臺灣獲獎者前往美國進行研究,並提供超過1,700名美籍學者來臺交流。

 

 

    

臺大IoX中心 跨域學習的最佳場域

Caspar特別感謝接待他的許永真博士,她除了是臺大資訊工程學系首位女性教授,目前也是臺大智慧聯網創新研究中心(簡稱臺大IoX中心)主任。他平常就待在臺大智慧聯網創新研究中心,與教授、博後及研究生們一同學習、互相切磋進步。臺大IoX中心是跨領域的校級研究中心,專注在人工智慧、物聯網及跟人機互動等相關領域,並利用頂尖的技術提供各種解決方案,這些資源正好能補足他在研究時所需要的資訊工程技術門檻。他也很訝異臺大IoX中心的成員其實都來自不同的學術背景,進而可以在研究過程中可以接觸到不同學術觀點的機會,激發彼此能在專案上有更多不同的切入角度及想法。

 

調查局小檔案3

臺大IoX創新研究中心於2011年設立,期以聚集研究學者以利用提供創新技術的解決方案。中心針對人工智慧、物聯網及人機互動於等相關領域的研究,並同時關注多維度合作及社會責任等相關議題。

 

科技的終極目標,是改善人類健康與環境的問題 

 

Caspar在臺大IoX中心進行許多小型專案,都與他的對科技及社會的關懷有關。他相信科技的終極目標,是改善人類健康與環境的問題。「監看式給藥機」是他正在進行的專案之一,利用人工智慧的技術,確保患者在服藥時,不會因健忘或是藥物成癮等因素而濫用藥物,除了能避免過度服藥造成健康問題,同時也能減少因製造藥物所造成的水汙染及生態系破壞。

 

臺大資源豐富 激發彼此潛能

訪臺的這幾個月,Caspar對於生活環境也有細膩的觀察,他發現臺大人之間既競爭又合作,彼此切磋琢磨,互相砥礪,創造良好的研究風氣,對於不同的人事物也都充滿了好奇心。他善用臺大豐富的課堂資源,旁聽了人工智慧課程,竟在課堂中結識了一位碩士生後,之後更一同開發出透過打字速率來辨識使用者的程式系統。他也笑著回憶起某天在校園中漫步時,有位大一學生主動跟他搭訕,並邀請他到英文課堂中分享美國的生活、經歷以及在臺灣的感受和心得,在與同學的互動過程中,他看到臺大人對於異文化的好奇與主動求知慾,在偌大的臺大,什麼火花都有可能被碰撞出來。

 

 

地理環境優 創造研究與生活的平衡

除了豐富的學術資源外,臺大位處市中心,四通八達,更被環山群抱,湛藍大海也只要一小時的車程即可抵達,優良的地理位置與環境都讓Caspar深信臺大是學者最好的訪問學術機構。他帶著我們一起爬臺大旁的福州山,體驗他平常激發研究靈感的幽逕,臺北近郊的象山、蟾蜍山也是他經常造訪的地方。在臺灣生活短短幾個月的時間裡,他更是完全融入社區、毫無障礙。我們跟著他回到民生社區的住家,不在高雄的「高雄肉圓」老闆說他每個禮拜都來,附近的小吃攤更是不用問都知道他要點什麼,而隱匿在巷弄裡的家庭髮廊,是Caspar在臺修、剪髮的唯一選擇,可能是在家對面、也可能是跟阿姨的緣分,採訪期間阿姨還跟我們分享他最喜歡的髮型。

  

擴大影響力 深化紐大與臺大的連結 

在臺大的經驗遠遠超過Caspar的期待,他很開心傅爾布萊特基金會提供學術訪問交流的機會,也期待未來紐約大學與臺大會有更多學術與人員的交流,更希望讓世界上所有的學者們知道,臺大非常適合國際學人訪問,儘管幾個月後,訪問計畫即將結束後,他得離開臺灣,但他相信未來一定有很多機會再讓他回到臺大! 

   

更多人物檔案將陸續解密,請持續關注OIA調查局。  

 


更新時間 : 2021 / 11 / 25